London Contemporary Dance School Announces Prestigious Scholarships

Dance scholarships are essential for supporting talented dancers who, without the financial and academic support, would not be able to achieve their full potential.

The new recipients of London Contemporary Dance School’s prestigious scholarships were announced on Friday 11 July at The Place.  London Contemporary Dance School – a world-class conservatoire in the heart of London, based at The Place, the UK’s premier centre for dance – offers several named scholarships which recognise outstanding talent and provide financial assistance to enable the students to continue to pursue their studies:

  • The Peggy Hawkins Scholarship Fund
  • The Duke of York Scholarship
  • The Charlotte Kirkpatrick Award

The Peggy Hawkins Scholarship was awarded to second year BA (Hons) Contemporary Dance students Jordan Ajadi and Laura Lorenzi and first year students Micha Baltman and Sara Augieras. They were chosen for their commitment and impressive results in technical ability, choreographic potential and contribution to the life of the School.

These talented students will each receive personal guidance from Anthony Van Laast and Pernille Charrington and financial support for the duration of their studies. Both Anthony and Pernille attended the ceremony to announce the new scholars.

The Peggy Hawkins Scholarship Fund aims to support talented students in completing their course of studies, taking advantage of new performance opportunities. It is funded by internationally renowned choreographer and Patron of The Place, Anthony Van Laast and London Contemporary Dance School alumna Pernille Charrington, in memory Peggy Hawkins, whose life was dedicated to teaching dance and choreography. Peggy was Anthony’s mother and Pernille’s devoted friend and colleague.

Tamzin O’Garro is the second recipient of the Duke of York Scholarship. This scholarship was was established in 2013 by the Duke of York, who has been Royal Patron of The Place since 1988. The scholarship aims to support undergraduate students from the UK who have the potential to become successful dance artists of the future, but whom without support, would not be able to benefit from training.

Each year the Charlotte Kirkpatrick Award is awarded to two students at the end of their second year BA (Hons) degree to help them continue with their studies in their final year of the course. It is awarded in recognition of effort, talent and exceptional potential for a future career within the dance world. This year it has been awarded to David Colley and Ana Álvarez Riccio.                                     

Congratulations to the talented dance students, the future dance artists.